Domestic Interlibrary Loan
The Interlibrary Loan Service is a service that allows a user to borrow books that is not owned by Korea Univ. Library through a partner institution
Users
- Faculty Members, Graduate Students & Undergraduates who are currently attending to the school
Subject Materials
- Publication Materials that are allowed for out-of-library loans
Fee
- The library will support a part of the cost. See [Fees] for further information
# of Books & Duration of Loans
| Partner Institutions | # of Books, Duration | Late Fee |
|---|---|---|
| Sogang University Ewha Women’s University Korea Rural Economic Institute Korea National University of Arts Hankuk University of Foreign Studies |
3 Books, 28 Days | ￦500 / per day |
| Seoul Nat. University | 3 Books, 20 Days | ￦1000 / per day |
| RISS Agreement Institutions | 3 Books, 22 Days (contains 1 Time-7Days Renewal) |
￦500 / per day |
| Konkuk University Kyunghee University Dongguk University Sungkyunkwan University Sookmyung Women’s University Yonsei University Hanyang University |
3 Books, 22 Days (contains 1 Time-7Days Renewal) |
￦500 / per day |
Materials that are NOT available for Interlibrary Loan
① Materials & Electronic Resources owned by Korea Univ. Library. Materials that are currently on loan
② Materials other than monographs (Academic Journals, Academic Papers are not subject for interlibrary loan)
※Materials owned by Sejong Campus are available through [Branch Loan] after searching it in the website.
② Materials other than monographs (Academic Journals, Academic Papers are not subject for interlibrary loan)
※Materials owned by Sejong Campus are available through [Branch Loan] after searching it in the website.
Application through Library Homepage
① Find&Borrow > Material Use > Interlibrary Loan > Apply for Search > Search (Title, Author) > Select Material > Enter Details > Request
* If you are having a hard time searching the material, click the ‘Direct input & Apply’ button to apply
② You can check the current progress/status of your application in [My Space > Utilization Status > ILL, DDS Request/List]
* If you are having a hard time searching the material, click the ‘Direct input & Apply’ button to apply
② You can check the current progress/status of your application in [My Space > Utilization Status > ILL, DDS Request/List]
Application through RISS
① RISS(http://www.riss.kr) Sign up at
② Search material on RISS website and apply for Loan Services
③You can check the current progress/status of your application on your [MY RISS] page.
※ Materials owned by [Sogang Univ., Seoul Nat. Univ., Ewha Women’s Univ., Korea National University of Arts, Hankuk University of Foreign Studies] cannot be requested directly through RISS. Please apply through the Library website.
② Search material on RISS website and apply for Loan Services
③You can check the current progress/status of your application on your [MY RISS] page.
※ Materials owned by [Sogang Univ., Seoul Nat. Univ., Ewha Women’s Univ., Korea National University of Arts, Hankuk University of Foreign Studies] cannot be requested directly through RISS. Please apply through the Library website.
How to Use Materials owned by National Library / National Assembly Library
① Interlibrary Loan is available on Loanable Western Books found on RISS (Cannot apply for Oriental Books)
② You can only view the material inside the library after arrival (Cannot take the material outside of the library)
③ Visit the library in person during the loan period to view the material (Must bring ID card)
② You can only view the material inside the library after arrival (Cannot take the material outside of the library)
③ Visit the library in person during the loan period to view the material (Must bring ID card)
Visit in Person / Quick Service Application
[Visit in Person] means that the user must visit the institution in person to receive the material. In this case, you MUST enter the date and time of your visit
① [Visit in Person] Hours : Monday ~ Friday (09:00 ~ 17:00)
② You can receive the material 2 hours after approval (from the institution that provides the material)
③ Please check the preparation status and Open Hours of the library before visiting the library. Make sure to bring your ID card with you.
※ In the case of [Quick Service], the applicant must pay all expenses, and can apply only for materials owned by libraries based in Seoul. You cannot set the ‘Recipient Address’ cannot be set to your personal address, and you MUST receive the material through your library.
※ The use of [Visit in Person] or [Quick Service] may be restricted depending on the circumstances or policies of the library that provides the material.
① [Visit in Person] Hours : Monday ~ Friday (09:00 ~ 17:00)
② You can receive the material 2 hours after approval (from the institution that provides the material)
③ Please check the preparation status and Open Hours of the library before visiting the library. Make sure to bring your ID card with you.
※ In the case of [Quick Service], the applicant must pay all expenses, and can apply only for materials owned by libraries based in Seoul. You cannot set the ‘Recipient Address’ cannot be set to your personal address, and you MUST receive the material through your library.
※ The use of [Visit in Person] or [Quick Service] may be restricted depending on the circumstances or policies of the library that provides the material.
Receive / Return Materials
① After receiving the arrival notification, bring your ID card and receive the material from the library
→ Main Library: 3F Archive #2, Science Library: 3F Interlibrary Loan Room
※ In the case of [Visit in Person], bring your ID card and the [Other Library Browse Request Form], then visit the library (that owns the material) to receive the material.
② Return the material to Korea Univ. Library or the Providing Institution within the scheduled date of return
※ Auto-return & Branch Return unavailable
→ Main Library: 3F Archive #2, Science Library: 3F Interlibrary Loan Room
※ In the case of [Visit in Person], bring your ID card and the [Other Library Browse Request Form], then visit the library (that owns the material) to receive the material.
② Return the material to Korea Univ. Library or the Providing Institution within the scheduled date of return
※ Auto-return & Branch Return unavailable
Precautions (Application)
① You cannot make any applications if you are currently under a penalty (Loan Unavailable, Loan Suspended)
※ Even if you made the application while your status is ‘Loan Available,’ you will not be able to use this service if your status has turned to ‘Loan Unavailable’ AFTER the arrival of the material. In this case, the material will be returned.
② If you do not receive the data within the scheduled date of return, you will be suspended from using the Interlibrary Loan service for a single semester.
③ An error (e-mail, SMS arrival notification) might occur depending on the situation of the system. Make sure to check the progress status of your application in the [Application Status] page.
④ The ‘Reason for Cancellation’ can be found in the ‘Remark’ column of your application status, and a message will be sent to your e-mail.
⑤ The material may be randomly sent to another institution, not the one you have applied for, depending on the circumstances,
⑥ Depending on the circumstances of the Material Provider, some materials may not be available for loan. (Materials on loan, Reference Material, Valuable/Old Books, etc.)
※ Even if you made the application while your status is ‘Loan Available,’ you will not be able to use this service if your status has turned to ‘Loan Unavailable’ AFTER the arrival of the material. In this case, the material will be returned.
② If you do not receive the data within the scheduled date of return, you will be suspended from using the Interlibrary Loan service for a single semester.
③ An error (e-mail, SMS arrival notification) might occur depending on the situation of the system. Make sure to check the progress status of your application in the [Application Status] page.
④ The ‘Reason for Cancellation’ can be found in the ‘Remark’ column of your application status, and a message will be sent to your e-mail.
⑤ The material may be randomly sent to another institution, not the one you have applied for, depending on the circumstances,
⑥ Depending on the circumstances of the Material Provider, some materials may not be available for loan. (Materials on loan, Reference Material, Valuable/Old Books, etc.)
Precautions (Use)
① Borrowed books may not be used for any purpose other than research purposes.
② Be careful to not damage the book. In the case where the user have lost or damaged the book, he/she must fully reimburse the cost in accordance with the Material Reimbursement Policy of the Material Provider
③ ‘Full Copy’ of borrowed books are not allowed due to copyright issues. In the case where you are looking to copy a part of the book, make sure to not cause any damage to the material.
④ Please return the book within the scheduled return date.
※ Since Interlibrary Loan is considered as a loan between institutions, not institution-individual, other users will not be able to loan the material if it is overdue, so please make sure to return the material within the due date.
② Be careful to not damage the book. In the case where the user have lost or damaged the book, he/she must fully reimburse the cost in accordance with the Material Reimbursement Policy of the Material Provider
③ ‘Full Copy’ of borrowed books are not allowed due to copyright issues. In the case where you are looking to copy a part of the book, make sure to not cause any damage to the material.
④ Please return the book within the scheduled return date.
※ Since Interlibrary Loan is considered as a loan between institutions, not institution-individual, other users will not be able to loan the material if it is overdue, so please make sure to return the material within the due date.
Contact Us
- Main Library Interlibrary Loan Manager : 02-3290-1494, kulib@korea.ac.kr
- Science Library Interlibrary Loan Manager : 02-3290-4221, scilib@korea.ac.kr
Foreign Interlibrary Loan
The Foreign Interlibrary Loan Service is a service that allows a user to borrow books that is not owned by Korea Univ. Library through a foreign Institution.
Users
- Faculty Members, Graduate Students & Undergraduates who are currently attending to the school
Subject Materials
- Publication Materials that are allowed for out-of-library loans
Fee
- The library will support a part of the cost. See [Fees] for further information
# of Books & Duration of Loans
- Max. 15 books at a time, including applications & loans (Loan period varies depending on the policy of the institution)
Foreign Interlibrary Loan
[Interlibrary Loan] > Search > Select [Direct Input] at the bottom > Enter bibliographic information and select [Foreign Application Materials] in the ‘Service Classification’ tab > Save
OCLC Interlibrary Loan Service
- By exploring the Worldcat DB Search, you can request a loan of various academic materials owned by OCLC member libraries (Online Computer Library Center/ 10,000+ libraries) through the Worldcat DB. * How to Use
① Search for the desired material at Worldcat.org Then, make requests for an interlibrary loan at the Korea Univ. Library Homepage > Interlibrary Loan menu.
② After receiving an arrival notification via e-mail or SMS, pick up the material after making the payment at your library.
② After receiving an arrival notification via e-mail or SMS, pick up the material after making the payment at your library.
Germany SUBITO Interlibrary Loan Service
- An Interlibrary Loan Association of German Libraries that provide loan services of monograph publications. *How to Use
① Enter the German National Library(http://www.dnb.de/EN/Home/home_node.html)> Search for the material > Apply for Interlibrary Loan at the Korea Univ. Library Homepage
② After receiving notification of the arrival of the material, receive the material after making the payment of fees at your library.
② After receiving notification of the arrival of the material, receive the material after making the payment of fees at your library.
National Diet Library Interlibrary Loan Service
- Provides loan services of monographs owned by the National Diet Library of Japan *How to use
① Enter the National Diet Library Homepage(https://ndlopac.ndl.go.jp) > Search for the material > Apply for Interlibrary Loan at the Korea Univ. Library Homepage
② After receiving notification of the arrival of the material, receive the material after making the payment of fees at your library.
* Out-of-library loan & copying of books are unavailable. Can only read the materials inside the library during the loan period.
② After receiving notification of the arrival of the material, receive the material after making the payment of fees at your library.
* Out-of-library loan & copying of books are unavailable. Can only read the materials inside the library during the loan period.
Materials that are NOT available for Foreign Interlibrary Loan
① Materials that are available through Domestic Interlibrary Loan
② Materials other than monographs (Academic Journals, Academic Papers are not subject for interlibrary loan)
② Materials other than monographs (Academic Journals, Academic Papers are not subject for interlibrary loan)
Precautions (Request)
① You cannot make any applications if you are currently under a penalty (Loan Unavailable, Loan Suspended)
※ Even if you made the application while your status is ‘Loan Available,’ you will not be able to use this service if your status has turned to ‘Loan Unavailable’ AFTER the arrival of the material. In this case, the material will be returned.
② If you do not receive the data within the scheduled date of return, you will be suspended from using the Interlibrary Loan service for a single semester.
③ An error (e-mail, SMS arrival notification) might occur depending on the situation of the system. Make sure to check the progress status of your application in the [Application Status] page.
④ The ‘Reason for Cancellation’ can be found in the ‘Remark’ column of your application status, and a message will be sent to your e-mail.
⑤ The material may be randomly sent to another institution, not the one you have applied for, depending on the circumstances,
⑥ Depending on the circumstances of the Material Provider, some materials may not be available for loan. (Materials on loan, Reference Material, Valuable/Old Books, etc.)
※ Even if you made the application while your status is ‘Loan Available,’ you will not be able to use this service if your status has turned to ‘Loan Unavailable’ AFTER the arrival of the material. In this case, the material will be returned.
② If you do not receive the data within the scheduled date of return, you will be suspended from using the Interlibrary Loan service for a single semester.
③ An error (e-mail, SMS arrival notification) might occur depending on the situation of the system. Make sure to check the progress status of your application in the [Application Status] page.
④ The ‘Reason for Cancellation’ can be found in the ‘Remark’ column of your application status, and a message will be sent to your e-mail.
⑤ The material may be randomly sent to another institution, not the one you have applied for, depending on the circumstances,
⑥ Depending on the circumstances of the Material Provider, some materials may not be available for loan. (Materials on loan, Reference Material, Valuable/Old Books, etc.)
Precautions (Use)
① Please check the scheduled return date when you loan the book, as the loan period of Foreign Interlibrary Loans may vary depending on the Loan Policy of the Material Provider.
② Out-of-library loans and the copying of books may not be available at the request of the Material Provider. In this case, the material can only be viewed at a designated area within the library during the loan period
③ Please return the book within the scheduled return date.
※ Since Interlibrary Loan is considered as a loan between institutions, not institution-individual, other users will not be able to loan the material if it is overdue, so please make sure to return the material within the due date.
② Out-of-library loans and the copying of books may not be available at the request of the Material Provider. In this case, the material can only be viewed at a designated area within the library during the loan period
③ Please return the book within the scheduled return date.
※ Since Interlibrary Loan is considered as a loan between institutions, not institution-individual, other users will not be able to loan the material if it is overdue, so please make sure to return the material within the due date.
Contact Us
- Main Library Interlibrary Loan Manager : 02-3290-1494, kulib@korea.ac.kr
- Science Library Interlibrary Loan Manager : 02-3290-4221, scilib@korea.ac.kr
Cost-Support Policy
① Full-time/Part-time Faculty Members : Full Support on Domestic/Foreign Interlibrary Loan/DDS Services (120 cases/user per year)
② Graduate School Students
*Delivery Cost of Domestic Interlibrary Loan Services [15 cases/user per semester]
*Full Cost of Foreign Interlibrary Loan Services [15 cases/user per semester]
③ Undergraduates *Delivery Cost of Domestic Interlibrary Loan Services [15 cases/user per semester]
*Undergraduates are not allowed to use Interlibrary Loan Services of some RISS Institutions, Partner Institutions, and Foreign Institutions
※ Express Delivery Costs, Late Fees, Reimbursement Costs for Loss/Damage of Material shall be borne by the user.
② Graduate School Students
*Delivery Cost of Domestic Interlibrary Loan Services [15 cases/user per semester]
*Full Cost of Foreign Interlibrary Loan Services [15 cases/user per semester]
③ Undergraduates *Delivery Cost of Domestic Interlibrary Loan Services [15 cases/user per semester]
*Undergraduates are not allowed to use Interlibrary Loan Services of some RISS Institutions, Partner Institutions, and Foreign Institutions
※ Express Delivery Costs, Late Fees, Reimbursement Costs for Loss/Damage of Material shall be borne by the user.
Domestic Interlibrary Loan
| Delivery Method | Delivery Cost | Required Duration |
|---|---|---|
| Delivery (RISS) | One-way 2,670 KRW Two-way 5,340 KRW |
2~3 Days |
| Delivery (Partner Institution) | One-way 3,500 KRW Two-way 7,000 KRW |
2~3 Days |
| Express Delivery | One-way Around 20,000 KRW | Same-day Delivery |
| Visit in Person | – | 2~3 Hours after Application |
※ The Required Duration may vary depending on the circumstances of the Material Provider and the Delivery Company
Foreign Interlibrary Loan
| Material Type | Partner Institution | Type | Fee | Required Duration | Remarks |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Book | OCLC | Loan | $0 ~ $50 | 2~4 Weeks | EMS Fee Excluded |
| NDL (National Diet Library) | Loan | Free | 1~2 Weeks | EMS Fee Excluded | |
| Germany SUBITO | Loan | € 20 | 3~4 Weeks | EMS Fee Excluded |
※ The costs may vary depending on the Material Provider’s Loan Policy
※ The costs may vary depending on the Loan Policy of the Material Provider. In some cases, the material may only be allowed for use within the library.
Contact Us
- Main Library Interlibrary Loan Manager : 02-3290-1494, kulib@korea.ac.kr
- Science Library Interlibrary Loan Manager : 02-3290-4221, scilib@korea.ac.kr
