HOME > 상세정보

상세정보

When breath becomes air

When breath becomes air (29회 대출)

자료유형
단행본
개인저자
Kalanithi, Paul. Verghese, A. (Abraham), 1955-.
서명 / 저자사항
When breath becomes air / Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese.
발행사항
London :   Vintage,   2017.  
형태사항
xix, 228 p. ; 20 cm.
ISBN
9781784701994
요약
"For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both. Advance praise for When Breath Becomes Air "Rattling, heartbreaking, and ultimately beautiful, the too-young Dr. Kalanithi's memoir is proof that the dying are the ones who have the most to teach us about life."--Atul Gawande "Thanks to When Breath Becomes Air, those of us who never met Paul Kalanithi will both mourn his death and benefit from his life. This is one of a handful of books I consider to be a universal donor--I would recommend it to anyone, everyone."--Ann Patchett"--
내용주기
Foreword / by Abraham Verghese -- Prologue -- In perfect health I begin -- Cease not till death -- Epilogue / by Lucy Kalanithi.
일반주제명
Lungs --Cancer --Patients --United States --Biography. Neurosurgeons --Biography. Husband and wife.
주제명(개인명)
Kalanithi, Paul   Health.  
000 00000nam u2200205 a 4500
001 000045897093
005 20170302173725
008 170302s2017 enk 000 0beng d
020 ▼a 9781784701994
040 ▼a 211009 ▼c 211009 ▼d 211009
082 0 4 ▼a 616.99/424 ▼2 23
085 ▼a 616.99424 ▼2 DDCK
090 ▼a 616.99424 ▼b K14wa
100 1 ▼a Kalanithi, Paul.
245 1 0 ▼a When breath becomes air / ▼c Paul Kalanithi ; foreword by Abraham Verghese.
260 ▼a London : ▼b Vintage, ▼c 2017.
300 ▼a xix, 228 p. ; ▼c 20 cm.
505 0 ▼a Foreword / by Abraham Verghese -- Prologue -- In perfect health I begin -- Cease not till death -- Epilogue / by Lucy Kalanithi.
520 ▼a "For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both. Advance praise for When Breath Becomes Air "Rattling, heartbreaking, and ultimately beautiful, the too-young Dr. Kalanithi's memoir is proof that the dying are the ones who have the most to teach us about life."--Atul Gawande "Thanks to When Breath Becomes Air, those of us who never met Paul Kalanithi will both mourn his death and benefit from his life. This is one of a handful of books I consider to be a universal donor--I would recommend it to anyone, everyone."--Ann Patchett"-- ▼c Provided by publisher.
520 ▼a "At the age of 36, on the verge of a completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi's health began to falter. He started losing weight and was wracked by waves of excruciating back pain. A CT scan confirmed what Paul, deep down, had suspected: he had stage four lung cancer, widely disseminated. One day, he was a doctor making a living treating the dying, and the next, he was a patient struggling to live. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined, the culmination of decades of striving, evaporated. With incredible literary quality, philosophical acuity, and medical authority, When Breath Becomes Air approaches the questions raised by facing mortality from the dual perspective of the neurosurgeon who spent a decade meeting patients in the twilight between life and death, and the terminally ill patient who suddenly found himself living in that liminality. At the base of Paul's inquiry are essential questions, such as: What makes life worth living in the face of death? What happens when the future, instead of being a ladder toward the goals of life, flattens out into a perpetual present? When faced with a terminal diagnosis, what does it mean to have a child, to nuture a new life as another one fades away? As Paul wrote, "Before my cancer was diagnosed, I knew that someday I would die, but I didn't know when. After the diagnosis, I knew that someday I would die, but I didn't know when. But now I knew it acutely. The problem wasn't really a scientific one. The fact of death is unsettling. Yet there is no other way to live." Paul Kalanithi passed away in March 2015, while working on this book"-- ▼c Provided by publisher.
520 ▼a On the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. Kalanithi chronicles his transformation from a naïve medical student into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.
600 1 0 ▼a Kalanithi, Paul ▼x Health.
650 0 ▼a Lungs ▼x Cancer ▼x Patients ▼z United States ▼v Biography.
650 0 ▼a Neurosurgeons ▼v Biography.
650 0 ▼a Husband and wife.
700 1 ▼a Verghese, A. ▼q (Abraham), ▼d 1955-.
945 ▼a KLPA

소장정보

No. 소장처 청구기호 등록번호 도서상태 반납예정일 예약 서비스
No. 1 소장처 중앙도서관/서고7층/ 청구기호 616.99424 K14wa 등록번호 111768072 도서상태 대출가능 반납예정일 예약 서비스 B M

컨텐츠정보

저자소개

폴 칼라니티(지은이)

1977년 뉴욕에서 태어났다. 스탠퍼드 대학에서 영문학과 생물학을 공부했고, 영문학 석사 학위를 받았다. 문학과 철학, 과학과 생물학에 깊은 관심을 보이던 그는 이 모든 학문의 교차점에 있는 의학을 공부하기로 마음먹고 케임브리지 대학에서 과학과 의학의 역사와 철학 과정을 이수한 뒤 예일 의과 대학원에 진학해 의사의 길을 걸었다. 졸업 후에는 모교인 스탠퍼드 대학 병원으로 돌아와 신경외과 레지던트 생활을 하며 박사 후 연구원으로 일했다. 연구 업적을 인정받아 미국 신경외과 학회에서 수여하는 최우수 연구상을 수상하기도 했다. 최고의 의사로 손꼽히며 여러 대학에서 교수 자리를 제안받는 등 장밋빛 미래가 눈앞에 펼쳐질 무렵, 암이 찾아왔다. 환자들을 죽음의 문턱에서 구해 오던 서른여섯 살의 젊은 의사가 하루아침에 자신의 죽음과 맞닥뜨리게 된 것이다. 의사이자 환자의 입장에서 죽음에 대한 독특한 철학을 보인 그는 힘든 투병 생활 중에도 레지던트 과정을 마무리하는 등 삶에 대한 의지를 놓지 않았다. 약 2년간의 투병 기간 동안 ‘시간은 얼마나 남았는가(How Long Have I Got Left?)’, ‘떠나기 전에(Before I Go)’라는 제목의 에세이를 각각 <뉴욕타임스>와 <스탠퍼드메디슨>에 기고했고, 독자들의 엄청난 반향을 불러일으켰다. 2015년 3월, 아내 루시와 딸 엘리자베스 아카디아 등 사랑하는 많은 사람을 남기고 세상을 떠났다.

정보제공 : Aladin

관련분야 신착자료

Power, Michael J (2022)
Young, William (2022)
Shifrin, Alexander L (2022)
Sencha, Alexander N (2021)
Ellis, Havelock (2022)